Back to All Events

Ficino Ensemble // Kaija Saariaho + Six New Irish Works

  • St Finian's Church 23 Adelaide Road Dublin 2, County Dublin, D02 XP21 Ireland (map)

Doors 7.30pm
Music 7.45pm

Tickets €10/7

The Irish Composers' Collective present an evening of new music for Flute, Viola, and Harp in the Luther House, St Finian's Church. Ficino Ensemble will performs Kaija Saariaho's 'New Gates' for flute, viola, harp along with six new works written by ICC composers Johanne Heraty, Anselm McDonnell, Elizabeth O'Brien, Rachel Nic Thomás, Robert Connell, and Stephen Kavanagh.

Ficino Ensemble was formed by Artistic Director Nathan Sherman in 2012 as a flexible chamber music group that performs all the great music for small ensembles, ranging from string trios to works written for larger ensembles.

Ficino Ensemble's aim is to perform works that appeal to a discerning audience whilst championing lesser known works that deserve to be appreciated. To date, they been invited to play for President Michael D. Higgins, Howth Chamber Music Series, Music in Kilkenny Series, Hugh Lane Sundays@Noon Series, Cork Orchestral Society and the Irish Georgian Society. They performed a highly successful chamber music series at the National Concert Hall in August 2016.

Their concerts have been described as exciting and intimate with a high calibre of ensemble playing. The members of the group are recognized in Ireland and abroad as soloists and chamber musicians.

The Irish Composers’ Collective is a non-profit collective of young and/or emerging Irish composers. ICC’s main aim is to further the professional development of composers by producing regular concerts of new music by its members.

Earlier Event: February 6
Exploring Electronics